top of page

Analysis Study 2017

This was a study where I was prompted to explore 2-3 ideas of Laban Movement Analysis in a 3 minute work. This study was for my Analysis 3301 class. The assignment was to create a 2-3 minute work involving two of the source concepts we has learned thus far in the semester. We had learned about Laban Movement Analysis. I know I wanted to incorporate the effort quality of time and the spacial pathways of the central and peripheral paths. The material of this work is comprised up of recycled material from my composition class as well as newly generated material.

In this study I explored the effort quality of time. Most of my movement was sustained. This sustained quality was easier for me to execute because it something I am familiar with. The sudden movements I did were very unexpected. Since the sudden movement was sandwiched in between slow, sustained movements, it stood out more. Another thing I looked at was the spacial pathways of the central path and peripheral path. Often times I travel through the transverse path. I wanted to make a clear distinction of how I was moving. In return, focusing on this helped me clarify the movements I was performing. It made my choreography more precise. As well, when analyzing the pathways, I was able to determined which type of movement best suited the performance.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page